AYWS Fall 2016 - Lassiter_Resize.jpg
AYWS Fall 2016 - Website Banner.jpg
AYWS Fall 2016 - Lassiter_Resize.jpg

This ensemble is comprised of 85 studentsin grades 9-12 who share a commitment to excellence in musical performance in these areas: flute/piccolo, oboe/English horn, bassoon/contrabassoon, clarinet, bass clarinet, saxophone (all), trumpet, horn, trombone, euphonium, tuba, percussion, piano, string bass, and harp.

Membership since 1988 has been drawn from approximately 75 different high schools in Barrow, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Houston, Oconee, Paulding, Pickens, and Rockdale counties. In addition, students have recently traveled from as far as Athens, Augusta, Rome, Warner-Robins and Birmingham to participate. The AYWS represents diversity in gender, orientation, race/ethnicity, religious affiliation, and socioeconomic status.

Miami 2017

The budget of the AYWS is drawn primarily from membership fees, the support of the AYWS Foundation and outside partnerships, sponsorships, grants, and donations. 

The Atlanta Youth Wind Symphony is based in the heart of Atlanta, Georgia and rehearses Monday evenings during the school year from 7:30-9:30 pm, preparing for each of four concerts in approximately six rehearsal periods. Rehearsals are held at Lakeside High School and performances occur throughout the metro area.

AYWS Fall 2016 - Website Banner.jpg


2017 - 2018 School Year


2017 - 2018 School Year

Thank you to everyone who auditioned for the 2017-18 Atlanta Youth Wind Symphony!

Over 350 outstanding musicians played over a period of eight days. Regardless of the results, we hope that you had a positive experience and grew as a musician. We wish you a successful year and applaud your dedication to top notch music-making at your school.

A special thank you to all of the directors and private teachers who helped the students in preparation for these auditions!

Alternates will be contacted individually via email.


Congratulations to the following students who are the selected members
of the 2017-18 Atlanta Youth Wind Symphony:



* Denotes Section Leader


Jenn Kim* (Lambert)
Caleb Colburn* (Alpharetta)
Claudia Wahoski (Starr’s Mill)
Christine Park (Lambert)
Jasmine Ikusebiala (Mays)
Benjamin Smith (Loganville)
Ruby Yoo (North Gwinnett)
Liz Wong (Northview)


Saffy Bashey* (Holy Innocents)
Dominic Bernard (Walton)
Eric Pan (GSMST)
Julie Street (Westminster)


Ethan Clark* (Parkview)
Derek Rizzi (Wheeler)
Daniel Catanese (Walton)
Claire Chen (Westminster)


Alisha Zamore* (McIntosh)
Adam Liang* (Westminster)
Daniel Park (Collins Hill)
Nick Tewell (Pope)
Sung Jin Lee (Mill Creek)
Michael Tang (Alpharetta)
Henry Xuan (Lambert)
Vincent Fang (Westminster)
Esther Ro (North Gwinnett)
Daniel Kang (Cambridge)
Hope Cho (Westminster)
Minoo Dixon (North Gwinnett)
Francisco Vidales (Chattahoochee)
Jonas Du (Westminster)

Bass Clarinet

Mitchell Bowen* (Pope)
Minjae Lee (Lambert)
Benjamin Spinrad (Westminster) Kayla Constantine
(North Cobb Christian)
Ethan Metcalf (Alpharetta)

Contraalto Clarinet

Leslie Sullivan* (Whitewater)

Alto Saxophone

Cole Nelson* (Jackson County)
Natalia Warthen (Newnan)
Nicholas Goldfarb (Decatur)
Jonathan Webb (McEachern)
Devin Lloyd (Shiloh)

Tenor Saxophone

Jonah Sun (South Forsyth)
Aaron Yu (Westminster)

Baritone Saxophone

John Scott Schuette (Pope)


Josh Vollbracht*
(Kennesaw Mountain)
Brennan Bower (South Forsyth)
Molly Shannon* (West Forsyth)
Zachary Potts (Mary Persons)
Cole Vandiver (Lambert)
Varun Patel (Whitewater)
Savannah Smith (River Ridge)
Shaun Jacob (South Forsyth)


Sawyer Prichard* (Decatur)
Caitlin Petros* (Milton)
Emily Park (Decatur)
Thomas Tan (Northview)
Anthony Alia (Chattahoochee)
Alvin Lee (Lambert)
Tad Kim (Lambert)
Syed Saadat (Lakeside)
Evan Bloom (Milton)
Edward Huang (Whitewater)
Anna Paulus (Milton)
Zach Pedowitz (Milton)
Ethan Tsaur (Northview)

Bishop Bryant (Lumpkin County)


Vincent Tapia IV* (George Walton)
Alex Hassib (Kell)
Derek Hornberger (Fayette County)
Cullen Hunt (Pope)
Samuel Seo (Forsyth Central)
Brooks Dokes (George Walton)
Crews Owen (Norcross)

Bass Trombone

Cullen Findley (Lassiter)


Alex Aull* (George Walton)
Brandon Hardegree (North Cobb)
J.P. Miller (Lakeside)
Anthony Black (Lassiter)


Glen Johnson*
(Kennesaw Mountain)
Quentell Gipson III (Shiloh)
Laurenz Oriondo
Kennesaw Mountain)
Lucas Welch (Pope)


Reilly McLean* (Kell)
Sebastien Moneyron (Milton)
Drew Goldsmith (Milton)
Ayden Marshall (Milton)
Dudley Merriam (Milton)
Erica Hong (Lambert)
Harrison Boone (Parkview)


Benjamin Chin (South Forsyth)


Yasamin Khorashahi (Lambert)

String Bass

Alex Petralia (Druid Hills)





Sunday, June 3


This tour of Washington D.C. will include unparalleled musical and cultural experiences, including:

  • A capstone performance at the world-class Strathmore arts center
  • Master classes with members of “The President’s Own” United States Marine Band
  • A concert of the National Symphony Orchestra at the Kennedy Center
  • An Exploration Day at the Smithsonian Institute
  • The Evening Parade at the “Oldest Post of the Corps” 
  • And more!

AYWS - Washington DC
Washington, D.C. - Trip Payment

$400 Single Trip Payment + $25 Online Convenience Fee (Quantity: 1)

Total Trip Price $1,600 + $100 Online Convenience Fee (Quantity: 4)

Add To Cart